Jesus, the With Me God

When I was younger, I had a friend and fellow classmate who I visited at his home. While visiting, he asked if I would like to see their gods. Of course I said yes.

He walks me across the room to a small shelf where one shelf has a small curtain hiding its contents. He pulls back the curtain to reveal small statuettes.

"Here are our gods," he said revealing several colorful pieces. He shared how each one was for one or two different things.

After his presentation, he closed the curtain. He smiled and said, "Now, let's let them sleep."

Our God confounds many. We serve three Gods yet they are one God. As the song declares "God in three persons, blessed Trinity."

Isaiah prophesied a virgin with conceive and give birth to a child and his name would be Immanuel. (Isaiah 7:14). If inmay break down the word Immanuel:

Imm or Eem means with us.

Anu is us.

El means God.

Immanuel, Jesus Christ, is the With Us God.

He is with us.

He is with us now. He was with yesterday. He will be with us tomorrow. God is with us.

Jesus is the With Us God and He told us He would be the With Us God year more than just with us. Jesus declared He would be in us. He declared, "When I am raised to life again, you will know that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you." John 14:20

Unlike my friend's gods, our God does not sit on a shelf and He never sleeps. We don't have to leave him without Him. He goes with us and He is in us.

He is not housed on a shelf. He chooses us to reside and at the same time, in Him, we live, move, and have our being. He is never to abandon us and never to forsake us.

He is the With Is God.

Leave a Reply

